RSS Feed

On the Next episode of Mythbusters…Happily Ever After.


Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After.

Once Upon a Dream…

“And they lived happily ever after.” Think about this line for a few minutes. Are you living happily ever after? If not, what will it take for you to get there?

If The Disney Company ruled the world (which let’s face it – they nearly are), they would have us all believing that all we need is a fancy dress, a cute guy, and a little magic – we would all live happy little lives for the rest of our natural existence.

It’s a load of crap.

It is impossible to be happy every single moment of every single day.  And if you are – you SERIOUSLY need to have your Prozac levels checked, because I’m a thinkin’ you are on WAY too high of a dose!

 

 Life is rife with downs and ups.  Grief and joy.  Sadness and happiness.

Think of it as climbing a mountain.  Even after the arduous ascent, once you get there – to the promised land – to the mountain-  top – to the (insert your own idiom here), you HAVE TO GET BACK DOWN THE MOUNTAIN!

It is up to you, however, whether or not you stay stuck in the valley of despair.

So, to answer the question, “Are you living a happy life?”, the answer is no.  Not all the time.  Not every single moment of every single day.  Particularly not at this point in time in my life.  Things are down right blecky – about a lot of things.  However, I do not chose to let myself be stuck in the Sad Susie Swamp.  I chose to find my joy where I can find it, and I know that one day, the scale will move again and things will equal out.  And until then, I live my life the best I can.

So, as they say on Mythbusters:

BUSTED!

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

6 responses »

  1. Which is why I love Into The Woods…and any number of Mercedes Lackey’s re-imagined fairy tales!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After | Joe's Musings

  3. Pingback: To Be Happily Ever After You Must Be Happily Ever Before. | The Jittery Goat

  4. I loved this, and thought that “Sad Susie Swamp” was genius!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Getting A Happy Ending – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers

