RSS Feed

Why me? Why now?

Posted on

I know what you are thinking.

You are thinking, “What? Another random, faceless person posting on their mundane lives?  Why?  Don’t they have any REAL friends they can share with?  Why her?  Why now?”

Such a very good question.

Oh.  You wanted an answer.

Ok.  I hate to say it, but I don’t really have a good one.  Well, not really.  Except that, my mind – my rather twisted, swirlly, jumbled, cluttered, questioning mind – ALWAYS has something to say.  And well, sometimes I just have to get it out to someone else besides myself.  Because when I start talking to myself, it only confirms people’s perception that I am insane.

A little about my crazy little life…

I am a single mother of three – also known as The Three Monkeys.

Monkey #1 – a 12-year-old boy in the 7th grade.  Loves origami, dinosaurs –  origami dinosaurs.  Was diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome in 2008 at the ripe old age of 8.

Monkey #2 – a 10 year-old-boy in the 5th grade.  Is obsessed with all things Pokemon.  (Please!  Mommy can’t listen to another thing about Pokemon!) Smart as a whip.  My little huggy monster.

Monkey #3 – the lone girl – 8 going on 18.  In the 3rd grade.  A social butterfly.  A drama queen.  My mother says she is my payback for being just like her when I was a kid.  (I still question her memory of my behavior.  I swear I wasn’t THAT BAD!)

During the day, I teach 4th grade (Monkeys 2 & 3 go to the same school).  This is my 15th year at the same school.  I question every day why I am going back.  And at some point every day, at least one of my students reminds me…

I live 1.7 miles from my mother – which is extremely convenient, but also a little too close for comfort.  Don’t anyone tell her, but there is no way I could live without her.  She is a tremendous asset in my life.  She picks up the kids from school.  She gets homework done.  She ferries the Prima Ballerina Drama Queen to her dance classes.  She shops for The Monkeys.  She is also one of the biggest frustrations in my life.

So – to answer the question at hand.  Why me?  Why now?

I have stuff to say.  Period.

Welcome to my world.   Welcome to my mind.  Welcome to my random musings from my mind about my world.

Enjoy the twists and turns.  Hopefully you can keep track without a road map.  I know I have a hard time doing so…

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

One response »

  1. This is great, Susan! You have much to share & much to express creatively! You go girl!!

    Reply

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

