RSS Feed

The Tiny Giant


Daily Prompt: Mentor Me

Daily Prompt: Mentor Me

Have you ever had a mentor? What was the greatest lesson you learned from him or her?

Although 4’11”, she is a giant.

Her fingers, gnarled with arthritis command our attention – directing us to sound as one.

Her red pixie-cut bobs in time to the music, a slight tremor beyond her control.

Her sharp, elfin ears can pick out the one voice out of sixty that has wandered astray.

Anything short of perfection is unacceptable – our pure devotion to her drives us to achieve it.  We would rather die than disappoint her.

“Reach for the blue flower,” she commands.  We can almost touch the mythical bloom.

She never married, having lost her fiance at Pearl Harbor.  She is instead married to her choir – the generations of students her children.

Her belief in my ability never wavered.

I was to be the one who “made it.”

I was to be the one who one day stood on a stage, holding an award, thanking her.

Yet, I never even tried.

So, the awards never came.

But every year, when I sing the Hallelujah Chorus with my church choir – FROM MEMORY – I always close my eyes, bow my head, and whisper…

“Thank you, Miss Carpenter.”

And I know she has heard every note.

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

4 responses »

  1. Aw Susan,That was so nice! I was nodding my head the whole time! You have always been a good singer!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Russell! I knew you would relate! When I close my eyes, I can still see her standing there directing us. I can also still remember how she would come up and jab two fingers in your mouth if it wasn’t open far enough! I still love her deeply.

      Reply
  2. That made me teary. Amazing 🙂

    Reply

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

