RSS Feed

Food, Glorious Food


Describe the most satisfying meal you’ve ever eaten, in glorious detail.

Daily Prompt: Seconds!.

Food.  Isn’t it amazing how many memories are tied up in food.  Holiday dinners.  First dates.  Wedding receptions.  Funeral bunches.  A whiff of a familiar aroma can instantly take you back to that table, mouth-watering, ready to dive in.   There are certain foods that just by imagining it, I can virtually taste it.

Try as I might, I simply cannot narrow down to the MOST satisfying meal.  I must admit, I truly ENJOY food.  The taste.  The mouth feel.  Not eating just to eat, but savoring.  So, instead of the MOST satisfying meal, I thought of one amazing meal in my not so distant past.

About a month after my former love and I started dating, I accompanied him on a weekend business trip to Charlotte, North Carolina.  A big step in a fledgling relationship.  He is “food lover” as well, and he insisted we stop at a steakhouse that he is particularly fond of – located just off the highway in Greenville.   This restaurant was one of those steakhouses that makes you feel as if you are stepping back in time.  A time of Mad Men and four martini lunches.  The kind of place that you half way expect to look over and see Frank Sinatra sitting in the booth next to you.  Or at least Jon Hamm.

We began our meal with a martini.  Dry.  Bombay Sapphire Gin.  Very dirty.  Blue cheese stuffed olives.  The saltiness of the olive.  The sharpness of the cheese.  The smooth burn of the gin.  It seemed very appropriate given our surroundings.

For our meal, we shared a filet.  Two-inches thick.  Perfectly cooked.  Meat so tender, that despite its thickness – you could almost cut it with only your fork.  Meat so delicious, the sides were almost superfluous.  Superfluous – but oh so delicious.  Creamed spinach so good that I was tempted to use my fingers to make sure every last drop was consumed.  Creamy, buttery, fluffy garlic mashed potatoes.   Each bite an explosion of flavors and textures.

Dessert was a simple cheesecake.  No frills.  But perfection.  A cheesecake that rivals any found in New York.

I was intoxicated.  And no – not just from two martinis and a glass of wine.   Intoxicated by the surroundings.  Intoxicated by the tastes and the textures of the meal.  Intoxicated by new love.

And an evening I am sure to never forget.

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Seconds! – Flash Fiction / Short Story – “A Little Bit of What You Fancy” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

