RSS Feed

It’s Date Night!


… with myself.

The Three Little Monkeys are at their dad’s tonight.  It was already past dinner time and I had absolutely no idea what to have.  Not much in the fridge.  Besides, that would mean I would have to cook, and while I do enjoy cooking – I didn’t feel like it.  I could go get something, except that MY CAR HAS BEEN AT THE DEALER FOR THREE WEEKS (another story).

It was then that I remembered that my favorite little Italian place has started delivering.  YAY!  HOORAY!  Soon, lasagna is on the way (oh, and a cannoli, just because I wanted one).

And THEN I remembered the half a bottle of wine tucked away in the fridge.  Even better!

So, here I sit.  Yummy, fresh from the oven lasagna and a glass of wine in front of me, Survivor on the TV, thoroughly enjoying my little date night.

Oh, sure.  Date night is usually a bit more enjoyable when you have someone with you (and at times even more so…), but there is something wonderful about just taking care of yourself.  Taking the time to just BE.  Not a single solitary other person for you to be concerned about.  It is good for the soul.

Now, my dears, if you will excuse me, I must depart.  My lasagna is getting cold.

Buon Appetito.

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

One response »

  1. I see we share the same template. Great minds think alike. For me date night is popcorn from the 1970s popcorn maker and a cold beverage. Chin chin!

    Reply

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

