RSS Feed

Oh, the Places I WON’T Go!” (The not-so-serious version)

Posted on

Daily Prompt: No, Thanks.

Is there a place in the world you never want to visit? Where, and why not?

As I stated in yesterday’s post, “Oh the Places You’ll Go,” I can find beauty in just about any location.  The buildings.  The landscape.  The flora.  Despite crumbling buildings, I can find a small detail that I find fascinating.

There is one small little problem, though.  I have a MASSIVE phobia of snakes.  Any kind.  Big or little.  Venomous or not.  I hate them.  Hate them.  HATE THEM!!!

So, I have absolutely no desire what so ever to go ANYWHERE where I might run in to some.  That includes, but not limited to:

  1. The Amazon Rainforest.
  2. The Herpetarium at the zoo (Yes, I am fully aware that there are OTHER reptiles there, but there are far more snakes than any other creature).
  3. The reptile department of PetSmart (or any other pet store for that matter).
  4. Any snake or reptile show at a local convention center.
  5. The reptile section of the library or the book store.
  6. A theatre showing “Snakes on a Plane.”  Or “Anaconda.” Or any other snake based movie.
  7. The South Seas where the sea snake lives. (I can still remember the nightmare I had as a child where the canal behind our house became infested with sea snakes and I fell in.)
  8. The Reptile section of my college biology textbook. (Yes, boys and girls, I actually CHOSE to fail that part of the semester, just so I did not have to see the pictures in that section.)
  9. The pinestraw in my front yard. (I found some babies in there last spring.)
  10. Anywhere else you might think of where one might unexpectedly walk up on one of those vile creatures.

Now, if you will excuse me, I now have a serious case of the heebie-jeebies.

{Shudder}

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

12 responses »

  1. Pingback: Hawaii Five – No | The Jittery Goat

  2. It sounds like your snake phobia is about as bad as my wasp phobia!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: No, Thanks | nicksen

  4. wow! thanks for that tremendous brief article. I actually loved it with the core. Hope you keep putting up this sort of incredible articles or blog posts

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt – No, Thanks | Joe's Musings

  6. Yeah, I’ve snorkeled and dived and run into sea-snakes, and I assure you they get your heart-rate up some. Though that said, they’re beautiful in their own way too. As are the waters of the South Pacific 🙂

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt, No Thanks | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  8. I share this phobia with you. Just reading this made me shudder and look around several times. I went to an island in Malaysia in the summer and we decided to talk a walk on the bridge outside our hotel. One of my friends spotted a snake on one of the pillars and honestly I don’t think I slept that night. I just wanted to pack my bags and go home!

    Reply

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

