RSS Feed

All Grown Up – or am I?

Posted on

Daily Prompt: All Grown Up.

When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

Ugh.  Being a grown-up can really suck!  I wish , wish, wish someone could make the decisions for me.  For as strong-willed as I am, I have quite the submissive streak  – which is a completely other topic for a completely other less family friendly blog. 😉

Any who, I suppose the first I truly felt grown up, was the day I brought Monkey #1 home from the hospital.  A bit of a slap in the face with a big ol’ dose of reality.  If I wasn’t ready to grow up, I had better start RIGHT NOW!  I couldn’t just call the nurse to have the little one taken down the hall to the nursery so I could get some sleep.  There was that brief moment of, “What in the hell have I done?!?  There’s no turning back now!”  Even now, almost 13 years later, I occassionally have to remind myself that I am the Mommy!  🙂

But as for feeling like a “grown-up,” maturity is a state of mind – not an age.  I tend to “act” much younger than my actual age.  Just a part of who I am!  Life is too short to be serious all the time!

So in the words of Peter Pan:

If growing up means
It would be beneath my dignity to climb a tree,
I’ll never grow up, never grow up, never grow up
Not me!

Mary Martin in Peter Pan

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: Some Things (Most Things) Are Best Unsaid | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: I Don’t Wanna Grow Up | Stuphblog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All Grown Up | nicksen

  4. Pingback: When I Woke Up, I Realized I Was OLD! | So I Went Undercover

  5. Or am I indeed? Well done. 🙂

    Reply

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

