RSS Feed

The Present

Posted on

Here I stand

Half in the past

The other in the future

Trying to live in the present

But the present is fleeting

Just a moment – then it is gone

Becoming the past

Affecting the present that is now.

 

Here I stand

Obsessing about the past

Worrying about the future

Trying to live in the present

But the present is comprised of

The obsessions of the past

And the worries of the future

Affecting the present that is now.

 

Here I stand

Scarred by the past

Scared of the future

Trying to live in the present

But my present

Made by the scars of the past

Needs not be scared of the future

And instead just be in the present that is now.

The Present, Part Deux

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

5 responses »

  1. We should duet.. If interested email me 🙂 hastymrs@cox.net

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The Present, Part Deux | Happy Monkey Land and Other Musings on Life

  3. I’ve gotten behind in reading your posts. This is powerful & really speaks to me! I’m living this right now & struggling. Thank you!

    Reply

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

