RSS Feed

You Know You Are a Mother When…

Posted on

Sunday night and The Three Monkeys are staying at my mother’s as I have morning duty at school tomorrow.  Once again, dinner time passes by and I find I am getting increasingly hungry, so I wander downstairs to see what there was to see.

I haven’t been to the store.  The pickings are a little slim.  I want fast and I want easy.  I spy a box of Kraft Macaroni & Cheese in the cupboard.  Hmmmm…  Fast?  Check.  Easy?  Check.  Sounds great!

But, this isn’t any ordinary box of Kraft M&C…it is Madagascar 3 Kraft Macaroni & Cheese.  But, Mommy Monkey is hungry.

You know you are a mother when, you fix yourself a box of Madagascar 3 Kraft Macaroni and Cheese.  Sans children.

Even as I am preparing it, I know I am going to catch grief from The Three Monkeys.  Particularly The Girl Child.  She picked it out.  And I have found that my children are very territorial about food stuffs in my house.  God forbid I actually eat ice cream or whatever when they aren’t here, and then they come back ONLY TO FIND IT GONE!!!!  BAAAAADDDDDD MOMMMMMY!!!!!  It does not matter that the store sells more.  I had the nerve to consume food while they were gone.  For shame!  It makes me wonder if they do the same thing to their dad.

*sigh* They are soooooo dramatic – and I have absolutely no idea where they get it from.  None whatsoever…

You also know you are a mother when, you make plans to stop at the grocery store on the way home to replace the eaten box of Madagascar 3 Kraft Macaroni & Cheese, before your children return tomorrow afternoon and discover it missing.

Silly Little Monkeys.  Smart Mommy Monkey.

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

8 responses »

  1. So very true! My daughter can’t remember a trip to the museum from last week but she knows that there should still be a bag of cookies hidden on the top shelf of the pantry. Hope you enjoyed your Mac & Cheese.

    Now I’M getting hungry. Dare I eat the last of the cookies??

    Reply
    • Mine too!!! It is crazy! Particularly The Girl Child. I swear she takes inventory before they head over to their dad’s for four nights!

      Thanks for the follow!

      Reply
  2. Yes, but be grateful. In my house it’s only my dog & cat.
    If I were to polish off the Beef Chews, I’d hear it from Bella! : )

    Reply

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

