RSS Feed

I would rather have thirty minutes of wonderful than a lifetime of nothing special.

Posted on

Take a quote from your favorite movie — there’s the title of your post. Now, write!

via Daily Prompt: Silver Screen.

steel magnolias

 

There were countless movie quotes I could have chosen – as well as several from Broadway musicals, but this one from Steel Magnolias stands out in my mind.

It is said by Shelby (played by Julia Roberts) when she informs her mother that she is pregnant.  Her mother, M’Lynn (played by Sally Fields) is not as happy as you would expect a mother to be when hearing this news from her only daughter.  But, she is concerned about her daughter’s health.  Afraid for what the pregnancy will do to Shelby’s body.  But, Shelby wants this more than anything.  She tells her mother “I would rather have thirty minutes of wonderful than a lifetime of nothing special.”

As my marriage was in its death-throws, this quote would run through my mind.  The marriage wasn’t all THAT bad.  Sure, we had our problems.  Some of them quite big.  But, we had always been faithful and I did still love him as a person – and as the father of my children.  But, neither one of us were HAPPY.  Not at all.  We were going through the motions.  Staying married because it was far more scary to head out on our own.  It was terrifying.

Yet, I knew it wasn’t enough.  For either one of us.  We both deserved more.  A whole lot more.  We deserved the wonderful, instead of the nothing special.  And that was what we were.  We weren’t special.

This quote became my mantra.  I even used it when I told him I thought it was best for us to part.  As hard as it was to say.  The silver lining behind it is that he and I “got out” before we hated each other and he to this day remains one of my best friends.  I know he will always be there for me, and I for him.  I know not everyone is that lucky.

Not that every moment of the 4 years since we separated have been special.  They haven’t been.  There have been sky-scraping highs, as well as Grand Canyon deep lows.  Life is a roller coaster after all.

Since then, I have had more than thirty minutes of wonderful.  The most amazing wonderful of my life.  And while things might be nothing special right now, I know there is always more time on the clock.   And even if the clock were to wind down today, I will always be grateful for those thirty or so minutes of truly wonderful.

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Usual Quotes Usually Work | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Silver Screen What we’ve got here is failure to communicate. | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: IF YOU’RE A BIRD….I’M A BIRD | hastywords

  4. Pingback: May the force be with you – Daily Prompt – Silver Screen | Joe's Musings

  5. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – A Poetic Duet With Tammye Honey – “Screen Chemistry” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  6. Pingback: “It’s never a mistake to care for someone. That’s *always* a good thing!” ~ From ‘Radio (03)’ | The Hempstead Man

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

