RSS Feed

On Blogging

Posted on

winding road

I have come to love blogging.  Truly love it.

I love that it gives me a chance to write.  I wasn’t always a writer.  Or, at least I didn’t think I was.  I never really liked writing fiction.  And non-fiction?  Oy.  All those research papers were just tedious.  My ADHD made it REALLY hard to focus on the topic.  REALLY hard. All those notecards and outlines.  UGH.   But, I could always manage to pull something brilliant out of my butt and get a fairly decent grade.

What I did enjoy was writing little snippets about things in my life  – whenever those little snippets struck me.  Little poems.  Or pieces of poetic prose.  And while I had a feeling they were pretty good, I didn’t have an organized place to put them.  I have little scraps of paper lying around where I jotted down ideas.

And friends did always say I always knew just the right thing to say – and MAN, could I work a metaphor.

That is where blogging comes in.  It became the perfect place for me to write.

I look at other people’s blogs and I notice how FOCUSED they are.  Their blogs have a theme!  Blogs on poetry.  Blogs on family.  Blogs on fashion.  Blogs on mental-health.  Blogs on music.  Bogs on education.  Pretty well focused on a single topic.

And then I look at mine.  The posts are all over the place!  I’ve got a little bit of everything!  No focus.  Just like that picture above.  Wandering.  And I begin to think maybe I need to have a bit more of a point!

But, I realize that rambling road is like my mind.  All over the place!  I am not very single focused.  Not one little bit.

I guess that is my theme then.  Literally the rambling musings of my mind.  After all, it isn’t about the directness of the path, it’s about the destination.

Like the Beatles said, “It’s the long and winding road, that leads me back, to your door.”  And I am glad my winding road leads me to your door.

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

3 responses »

  1. I am both focused and not focused. I guess I’m bi-blogual. New word. Just made it up.
    The first blog I started is just that, focused. I write there about one thing and one thing only. About 9 months after I started that, I wanted to do other writing, but I hadn’t left myself any space to do that, so I started a second blog. That one is less focused. I do my own thing there. Sometimes I do prompts, sometimes I try a new way of writing. Sometimes I comment on current affairs, or make fun of current affairs. I enjoy both equally, and they both have their benefits.

    Reply
  2. I am self absorbed… and I probably contribute the most traffic on my own blog… so what’s wrong with writing for yourself (or myself for that matter :P). As long as you enjoy the writing and look back at your blog and think its the best read in the world than its fine. 😀 Wahahahahaha!! Have a good day.

    Reply

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

