RSS Feed

Impossible Things are Happening Every Day

Posted on

Daily Prompt: Impossibility.

“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” – the White Queen, Alice in Wonderland.

What are the six impossible things you believe in? (If you can only manage one or two, that’s also okay.)

Julie Andrews as Cinderella

Julie Andrews as Cinderella

In the Rodgers and Hammerstein musical version of Cinderella there is a delightful little song sung at the end of Act I called “Impossible.”  It is the scene where Cinderella first meets her Fairy Godmother and good ol’ FG works her magic to get that sooty little girl all gussied up to go to the ball.

Impossible, for a plain yellow pumpkin to become a golden carriage.
Impossible, for a plain country bumpkin and a prince to join in marriage,
And four white mice will never be four white horses!
Such fol-der-ol and fid-dle-dy dee of course, is— Impossible!
But the world is full of zanies and fools
Who don’t believe in sensible rules
And won’t believe what sensible people say.
And because these daft and dewey-eyed dopes keep building up impossible hopes,
Impossible things are happening every day.

I really like to think I am one of those zany fools who doesn’t believe in sensible rules.  One of those daft dewey-eyed dopes who continue to believe in the impossible.

So, instead of list six things, I am going to say just one.

I believe in the impossibility of finding lasting love.  That remarkable love that holds you up, but allows you to still be you. That love that endures all.

I believe in the impossibility of that love being in my world.

After all, impossible things are happening every day…

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

11 responses »

  1. Pingback: 6 Impossible-ossible Things | Cheri Speak

  2. Pingback: The One That Mother Gives You Doesn’t Do Anything At All | The Jittery Goat

  3. I believe in that kind of love too! Well said. 🙂

    Reply
    • One day, one can hope. After all I still have a lot of life left!

      Reply
      • I don’t mean to sound coy, but you do have a dog right? If so, there is unconditional fairy tale love there, speaking from experience. 🙂

        Reply
        • Unfortunately, I am currently dogless. I had to put my sweet Duffey down several years ago, and find I am just now ready for another furry child. It took me longer to feel ready to “replace” my sweet dog, than it did my ex-husband… 🙂

          Reply
          • I am so sorry to hear about Duffey, but I do understand your sentiment as it pertains to replacing a dog. It’s tough. Please know somewhere out there is a dog that will love you unconditionally. Also, I’m certain your children do. Little people have such pure love in their hearts. I envy that about them sometimes.

            Reply
            • I have started looking for a new dog. The monkeys and I have been looking at some rescue breeds.
              And yes, the monkeys do have unconditional love. Even if 1 & 3 will occasionally scream how much they hate me.

              Reply
  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Impossibility | My Atheist Blog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Impossible | Joe's Musings

  6. Pingback: Gotta Make it Possible | studio Nem

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

