RSS Feed

My Little Bronies: Brothers Can Be Magic

Posted on

Urbandictionary.com defines a brony as – Brony – n – Bronies are the teenage and adult fans (mostly male) of the television show, “My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic.”  Though the term “brony” is gender-neutral, some female fans instead refer to themselves as “Pegasisters.”  Bronies are generally people who decide to judge something on its quality, instead of whether it’s “cool” or “manly” enough. 

As I mentioned earlier this week, The Boy Monkeys have both been very sick.  Coughing every ten seconds.  Feeling crummy.  They have missed days of school.

And apparently, they have spent the entire week watching every single episode of My Little Pony: Friendship Can Be Magic – thanks to Netflix streaming.

Yes, Monkeys #1 and #2 have become proud members of the Brony Nation.

At first, I thought they were just watching with their little sister.  She has recently re-discovered the joy that is My Little Pony.   She really enjoys watching the shows.  And they boys would “let” her watch – occasionally allowing her to turn the TV away from anything Pokemon related.

Then I heard them starting to talk about it.

And now – they are watching it on their own.

And I find it absolutely hysterical.  Don’t ask me why.  But I do.

Not that I am “disturbed” about my BOYS watching a show that is traditionally associated with female viewers.  I have NEVER been one of those parents who insist on gender specific roles.  That’s not it.  That’s not it AT ALL!

But, I think what I find so damn funny is that they discuss it with the same intensity that they have talked about Pokemon, Legos and Star Wars.  They will debate the merits of the different Ponies.  They have formed intelligent opinions as to their favorite Ponies (Monkey #1 prefers Rainbow Dash because she is adventurous – Middle Monkey prefers Pinkie Pie for her eternal optimism).  They quote lines from the shows and will break into song.

Tonight, I picked them up from their father’s.  As soon as they got into the car, they started talking about it.  Quite animatedly.  I couldn’t help but start to laugh.  And laugh hard.  It was hard to drive I was laughing so hard.

Needless to say, the Boy Monkeys started to get a little perturbed with me.

Monkey #1 says, “What’s the problem?  We are proud Bronies.”

More hysterical laughter.

I could tell they were getting REALLY perturbed with my laughter.

So, in his very sardonic way, Monkey #1 says, “Mom.  You just don’t understand the Brony culture.”

I laughed so hard I actually snorted.

The whole time, The Middle Monkey and the Girl Child were arguing about who liked Pinkie Pie more.

It was almost too much!

At this point, Monkey #1 mutters under his breath, “If you post this on Facebook, I will come into your room and kill you in your sleep.”

Notice, he said nothing about my blog!  😀

Anyway.  I can say, I am proud of My Little Bronies.  I am proud of how they don’t really care what is popular or cool.  I am proud that they understand that liking something typically female oriented does not “make you gay.”  I am proud that they can see through the silly little pastel ponies and see the underlying theme of the show – Friendship is Magic.

Now, I wonder if they’ll ever admit it to their friends?  😉

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

One response »

  1. Pingback: In Search of a Land of Happy Monkeys… | Happy Monkey Land and Other Musings on Life

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

