RSS Feed

In The Wee Small Hours of the Morning…

Posted on

Daily Prompt: Your Time to Shine.

Early bird, or night owl?

LOL!  I’d be willing to bet anyone who really knows me can answer this!

My mother says that even as a baby, I’d be up as long as they were.  But then, thankfully I’d sleep through the night and on into the morning.

As a kid, I can remember being put to bed early (like all good boys and girls).  I’d go to sleep, then wake up in the wee small hours of the morning.  I’d get up.  Turn on my light, and read for an hour or longer.  Then I’d go back to sleep.

I have decided my natural body rhythm is to go to sleep around 1 or 2, and then sleep until 9.   Ideally, I’d work from 11 to 7.

There are a couple of problems with this…

1.  My children.  They wake up at 7.  No matter how late they stay up.  I am just happy that they are FINALLY old enough to give themselves their meds, grab something to eat, and find someway to entertain themselves for a bit.  Of course, that doesn’t keep them from arguing and I am frequently awakened to screeches.

2.  I am a teacher.  I have to be at school at SEVEN O’CLOCK IN THE FREAKIN’ MORNING!!!  This means that I have to get up at 0 dark thirty every morning.  And since I hardly EVER go to sleep before midnight, I am always sleep deprived.  Which means I am like this owl… made of coffee.   I cling to my coffee cup for the first couple of hours at school like it is a piece of driftwood keeping me afloat in the middle of the ocean after my boat has capsized.  On the other hand, it also means my students know the perfect teacher gift for me – Starbuck’s gift cards, travel coffee mugs, coffee samples, etc.

I have teacher friends who are in bed by 8 – asleep by 9 – and are up, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed by 4.  They talk about how much they are able to accomplish at that hour.   “Just try it!” they tell me.

All I can think is how much they are missing out on by being in bed that early.  There is so much of life to see in the wee small hours of the morning!  I think they should try it MY way!

It just makes so much more sense!

After all, the early bird may catch the worm, but the night owl will eat that early bird as it returns to its nest…  heh heh…

 

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

2 responses »

  1. I LOVE that owl picture!! I’m a night owl all the way. I’m rarely ever in bed before 2 am. I can’t imagine going to bed at 8 pm (although I might certainly feel differently about that if I had an early morning job). I don’t even come alive until around 10 pm. That’s when I have the most energy and get a lot done.

    Reply

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

