RSS Feed

La Cultura de San Antonio

Posted on

Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATexas MissionOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I grew up in South Florida.  There, anything over 50 years old is considered ancient.  So, I have always been fascinated by anything old.  Really old.

These pictures were taken at Mission Concepcion in San Antonio, Texas.  Most of us know about The Alamo, but few know that San Antonio was founded around seven Franciscan missions, established to spread the word to the natives of central Texas.  These Spanish monks brought with them their culture.  Their language.  Their religion.   They offered protection and guidance.

This church has been standing for over 300 years.  Many of the out buildings have long since crumbled, but the sanctuary still holds Catholic mass every day.  Bringing the culture of those original Franciscan monks to the modern people of San Antonio.

15 responses »

  1. Pingback: Culture is Ordinary | GeoFoodie

  2. I love historic buildings. The photo of the stairway, from the darkness to the light is very symbolic of the missions goal to bring their culture to the people.

    Reply
    • I love old buildings, too. There weren’t all that many in South Florida! 🙂
      In these pictures, I particularly like the juxtaposition of the crumbling ruins and the intact church building. The old faded frescos were glorious.
      I like the symbolism you found in the stairway. I hadn’t thought of it like that before!

      Reply
  3. Susan, I live in South Florida and I am over 50. Are you saying I’m ancient! 🙂 But I know what you mean. Nice post. I have only been to San Antonio once and it was on business so I didn’t do much sightseeing. After our meetings we went down to the Riverwalk to absorb some of the modern culture, which of course included a few beers. If you like old buildings you need to go to Rome. It is my favorite city for ancient history.

    Reply
    • Weellll – I’m ALMOST 50, so nope not ancient! 🙂

      One day I hope to get to Rome. I have only been to Europe once. 4 days in Paris. 10 days in southern Germany. Saw a castle built in 1000 AD. Boggles the mind!

      Reply
  4. I like your choice of pictures and I like the subject. I like older buildings, too. I love the shot of the stairway.

    janet

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture (Picnic aka Pique Nique) | What's (in) the picture?

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture (Mosk Courtyard Jemen) | What's (in) the picture?

  7. Pingback: 4-28-13 Weekly Photo Challenge #2 (Bridal Edition): Culture | The Quotidian Hudson

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture – We (The Netherlands) have a new King | What's (in) the picture?

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture – Artist Luciano Neri – A Photografic Exhibit | Bastet and Sekhmet

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture | Humbled Pie

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture | Humbled Pie

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture – Artist Luciano Neri – A Photografic Exhibition | Through the Eye of Bastet

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

