RSS Feed

Weeds Never Die – Or Life Lessons Learned From My Yard

Posted on

As I posted yesterday, I have a love/hate relationship with my yard.  I am constantly fighting with SOMETHING growing in my yard.  Those damn weeds are the most resilient things!!  It seems like no matter what I do, they keep coming back!

I can dig them up.

Pour full-strength professional grade weed killer directly on the roots.

Sprinkle them with “pre-emerge.”

Mow over them.

Fertilize the grass so it will grow and choke out the weeds.

But, NOTHING stops them from coming back.

I wish I was as resilient as those damn weeds.

I wish that no matter how many times some one attempted to destroy me by pulling me out by my roots, that I could continue to come back…just as strong as before.

I wish that no matter how much poison is poured on me that I could continue to not have it kill me. (Metaphorically, of course).

I wish that no matter how many times some one cuts me to the quick, that I could continue to grow.

I wish I could live my life like NOTHING could stop me.

It’s hard for me to hate the weeds.  After all, they are only quite literally fighting for their lives.  It is survival of the fittest.  They are bigger and stronger and more resilient than the grass.  It is their nature.  They were here first.

Why. then, can’t that be my nature, too?

It’s an interesting thought.

So, dear readers, before I leave you to continue my attempt to exert my dominance over the weeds in my life, I leave you with this quote:

“You fight dandelions all weekend, and late Monday afternoon there they are, pert as all get out, in full and gorgeous bloom, pretty as can be, thriving as only dandelions can in the face of adversity.”
–  Hal Borland

I should learn from the dandelions (and poke berry and mimosa and privet and ivy) in my yard, and thrive in the face of any and all adversity.

But, I still don’t want them living in my yard…

 

 

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

Now, what's on YOUR mind?

