Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

Posted on

Daily Prompt: Places.

Beach, mountain, forest, or somewhere else entirely?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

The breathtaking majesty of the Rocky Mountains.  Rising as if trying to reach heaven.

The urban decay of The French Quarter in New Orleans with its tilted buildings, looking as if they will crumble if I but lean on it.

The noise and lights and business of Times Square, making even night seem like day.

The buildings of Paris, glowing as if lit from within.

The layers of colors of the Arizona desert, stark and faded from the sun.

The peace and tranquillity and silence and misty coolness of the forests of North Carolina,

The power and strength of standing at the edge of the Atlantic Ocean, healing my soul.

Choosing one would be impossible.

Choosing one would make me feel unfaithful to the others.

Choosing one would make me feel unfaithful to myself.

Maybe I have a split-personality.

Maybe I am indecisive.

Or, maybe, just maybe, it is because I can find beauty and strength and power and peace and wonder in all the places I’ll go..

About Susan D.

Single mother of three. Teacher. Amateur Jewelry Designer. Singer. Hack writer. Trying to keep sane - as well as I can.

13 responses »

  1. Pingback: Hey, Let’s Have A Coffee | The Jittery Goat

  2. One day I hope to travel to the Rockies with my people. Beautiful post!

    Reply
    • Thank you! I went as a kid. My parents, my brother, the dog and me, hauling the Airstream trailer mentioned in the 1979 post, from West Palm Beach, Florida, all the way to Colorado. It was amazing. I will never forget it.

      Reply
  3. All of the places are beautiful. I have never been to the Rockies, but I have a few friends that have gone and the pictures they took are breathtaking. That’s a place on my bucket list.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: What I Long For | A Short A Day

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Places | KnowledgeKnut

  6. Pingback: Daily prompt – Places | Joe's Musings

  7. The Rockies are majestic, rugged, strong, refreshing..I’ve enjoyed them both in the green of summer, riding a horse along a trail, & in the white of winter, riding a lift to the peak to make my way down the trail on skis, sometimes face first in the snow! They’re a favorite! Then there’s Tuscany, vibrant, friendly, hilly, olive groves, vineyards, history, magical! Muir Woods in Marin County, CA…An actual primeval forest, now a Nat’l Forest so it can’t be destroyed. It is verdant, with Giant Redwoods, prehistoric trees, now ferns. Tuolumne Meadows in Yosemite, the High Sierras. I think these places are sacred ground for me.

    Reply
    • That is lovely, Patti Dear! I’ve never been to Tuscany, although I would love to. I’ve also never been to Marin. Again, I’d love to some day.

      Reply
  8. Lots of memories there. Thanks.

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Gran Quivira | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  10. Pingback: Of all places… | My Atheist Blog

Now, what's on YOUR mind?